Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Updates 2024

There’s no question that the IMLC has changed the landscape of healthcare accessibility across the United States and its territories. The mission of the Compact has been to increase access to health care – particularly for patients in underserved or rural areas. How is this done? 

This agreement between participating states and territories streamlines the state licensing process for practitioners who want to work in multiple states. As of March 2024, there are now 42 member jurisdictions, including 40 states, the District of Columbia, and the Territory of Guam. 

Infographic showing a map of the United States with a marker indicating '42' and text that reads 'As of March 2024, there are 42 member jurisdictions in the Compact.

States Accepting Applications for Expedited Licensure

  • Alabama*
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut*
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont*
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Alabama, Connecticut, and Vermont are not States of Principle Licensure (SPL.) Once you’ve entered the compact through an SPL, you will be able to get a license issued by these three states.

IMLC Status Map

Hover over a state to check its status in the IMLC. Click the state to read more.

Consilium Can Pay For Your Application Fees

Consilium not only helps guide providers through the IMLC process, but we can also cover the application fees. Contact us today to get started.

Share the Post: